Skip navigation

ipad won't sync

My iPad iOs and my iTunes software are up to date and I kept getting the error The ipad “iPadName” could not be synced because the sync session failed to start in iTunes whenever my iPad was tethered to my Mac.

Rebooting my iPad didn’t help. Here’s what did …

  • Untether iPad
  • Quit iTunes*
  • Turn on iPad (and unlock with passcode if need be)
  • Tether iPad to Mac
  • If iTunes doesn’t launch automatically and start syncing, launch iTunes manually to initiate a sync

 
Hope this works for you too!
Let us know in comments if not and what other steps worked for you.

Answers the question: How to resolve the iTunes error message The ipad “iPadName” could not be synced because the sync session failed to start when syncing your iPad with iTunes.

*Based on the experience of other in links below, perhaps all you need to do is quit and relaunch iTunes.

Links: MacRumours’ “Sync failed to start” | AppleToolBox’s iPad / iPhone /iPod could not be synced because the sync session failed to start; fix

One Comment

  1. I did all the steps above – except I inserted a step. Power off on the iPad, then turned it back on – this time it synced!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Your iPad can not be synced because the sync session … – 07/02/2013 · My iPad iOs and my iTunes software are up to date and I kept getting the error The ipad “iPadName” could not be synced because the sync session failed to …… […]

Leave a Reply

