Skip navigation

Tag Archives: On-The-Go

UPDATE: June 21st, 2010. iOS 4 on the iPhone does away with the iPod app’s On The Go Playlist (last item on your playlist) and has replaced it with Add Playlist … (now the first item in your playlist) — which functions similarly.

  • Run the iPod app on your iPhone.
  • Click on Add Playlist … (first item in your playlist).
  • Create a new playlist by giving it a temporary name (e.g. oldName+, to remind yourself what to rename it to, later in iTunes), then Save it.
  • Navigate to your playlists view (top left) if need be — you don’t want o add individual songs but copy whole playlists.
  • Select the playlist you want to copy and then from the top of that playlist you’ll find the magic option Add All Songs — the songs in that list will grey out.
  • Finally follow that by Done (upper right).
  • You’ll now be looking at your new playlist, check to see that it has all your songs listed in it.
  • Your new playlist will appear at the bottom of your old playlists, not in alphabetical order.
  • Rinse and repeat to copy old playlists into new playlists.
  • Sync to iTunes.
  • Rename the new playlists on iTunes, back to their old names.
  • Sync again.

 
Please read through the entire conversation which follows to better understand the process, precautions, limitations and user experiences …


The iTunes application has a gaping UI problem, it’s far too easy to delete a playlist and, once deleted, it can’t be undone! I’m not talking about having deleted the original song files, just the playlists you assemble — which point to songs in your music library. We all invest hours in selecting and sequencing our music into playlists. To lose a playlist can be pretty tough!

While working in a playlist you can have two different things selected — the playlist name and one or more songs in that playlist. So which will it trash when you hit the delete key? The selected songs or the whole playlist? It depends on which of the two was most recently selected and, therefore, the darkest of the two different selections. Madness. So with just a modicum of inattentive clumsiness you can easily kill off a whole playlist when you really mean to remove only a single track from it — and there’s no Edit>Undo safety net behind this function. Read More »

Advertisements